ROE-SAKA

image-1

Life. Doesn’t it go by in a blink? A week ago, I was exploring Kyoto with my best friend, our breath continually being taken away by each tourist spot that we visited, and now, she’s set to hop on a plane that will take her 7,000+ miles away from me once more. Back to our long-distance relationship. It’s hard. I’m not gonna lie.

Having had to sustain a friendship without the luxury of proximity isn’t a walk in the park. It’s entailed hard work, patience, and a boundless supply of love from both our ends. But it’s been so worth it. A hundred times over.

There was plenty that studying in Ateneo gave me, but my favorite is Roe. She’s one of my best friends in the world, and I loved the time that I had with her in Osaka. Life is so short, I would like to spend most of my days in the presence of those I hold near and dear. The rest truly is background noise. It’s a distraction.

Roe, I haven’t written in my blog in over a year, I would like to dedicate my comeback entry to you. I feel it’s only fitting, as I started off this year with you. If only walls could talk… our Airbnb flat would tell stories that I’ll forever hold close. Thank you for your love, your company, your friendship. Thank you for sharing THIS SEASON with me. You know what I’m talking about. Thank you for understanding me more than any other person in my life at this point. Thank you for sharing my pain. Thank you for crying real tears with me. Thank you for being real. Thank you for praying with me. Thank you for praying for me. Thank you for making it impossible to be with you and not find myself crying from laughing in a matter of minutes. Thank you for being so easy to be with. Thank you that it’s never awkward. Thank you that it’s okay to be quiet. Thank you that it’s okay to dominate the conversation. Thank you for being considerate. Thank you for pretending to be considerate even when you’ve already made up your mind about what place we’re going to visit, hahahahaha. Thank you for being kind. Thank you for being honest with me. Thank you for encouraging me. Thank you for calling me out. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for coming into my life. Thank you for staying. I love every part of our story, and I know that the best is yet to come.

I fell so in love with Osaka, and I’m so happy that you were there to share the experience with me. Everything becomes more beautiful when it’s shared with someone we love. And as beautiful as Osaka was, I know my sentiments were amplified by the company. Girl, the point is, I love you! Alam mo na yan! See you in April, I’m counting the moons, amore. Mahal na mahal kita. Always, only, Jesus ❤

P.S. I love this verse, and it really reminds me of you :-*

“Fancy hairstyles don’t make you beautiful. Wearing gold jewelry or fine clothes doesn’t make you beautiful. Instead, your beauty comes from inside you. It is the beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit. Beauty like this doesn’t fade away. God places great value on it.” —1 Peter 3:3,4

I’ll see you soon.

XXP

Leave a Reply

