Fear No Evil

black and white clouds

“The books or music in which we thought the beauty was located will betray us if we trust to them; it was not in them, it only came through them, what came through them was longing.

These things – the beauty, the memory of our own past – are good images of what we really desire; but if they are mistaken for the thing itself, they will turn into dumb idols, breaking the hearts of their worshippers.

For they are not the thing itself; they are only the scent of a flower we have not found, the echo of a tune we have not heard, news from a country we have never visited.

― C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory

I love to travel. As a matter of fact, there are a few things that I love more in this world than to travel. And as I think about why it’s captured my heart so completely, I can say for certain that a huge aspect of it is that it exposes me to beauty. The beauty of this world that God had created to mirror heaven. The beauty I find in the faces of people of varying ethnicities. The wonder evoked in me by the sunsets and mountains and stars and beaches and trees that don’t quite look the same no matter which end of the earth I visit.

And I know that this feeling of longing isn’t an earthly one. I know God Himself put it there. I know that there is more… there has got to be more. I know this even in the senseless death of an innocent child or even a loved one. I know this even in the daily news reports of bombings, death, hunger, terror, torture and fear everywhere around the world that I, admittedly, on some level have become desensitized to. It’s all enough to drive anyone crazy. Sometimes the enemy isn’t on the external level, but on the inside. Sometimes it’s our own thoughts. I personally know what it’s like to struggle with anxiety and it’s worse than any outside circumstance I’ve had to deal with.

So at such a time when it’s too easy to give in to fear and believe that the worst is yet to come, I pray that the peace of God which surpasses all understanding would guard your heart and mind. My prayer as well is that this song and these lyrics would encourage you as much as they have me. x Remember… there is more, and our stories don’t end here. The Prince of Peace is FOR you, WITH you, and He always will be.

Leave a Reply

