Naked

awkward

What is the most arresting question in the world?

To most people, uttering or even merely hearing the words “I love you” would likely stop them in their tracks. Not so with me. I beg to differ.

In my opinion, the most disarming words in the world are “How are you”.

First of all, how does one even begin to answer this question?

Do I tell you about what’s going on at home?

Fill you in on the latest drama at the office (which in my case as a freelancer is still technically my home)?

Or do we get to the heart of it and shall I go on to spill my deepest, most intimate feelings and sentiments at the moment?

Lay bare the things that I struggle with when I’m no longer surrounded by the noises, hustle and bustle of the daily grind and the voices of those that I love and I’m left on my own?

However, hearing these words is not nearly as difficult for me as it is to ask them.

I can probably count the number of times that I’ve said these words even to my closest friends.

It’s not that I don’t want to know — in fact there’s nothing more I’d love than to hear their stories about anything and everything; it makes me just feel like I’m putting them under pressure to strip naked before me. Or maybe because I’m all too familiar with the discomfort and awkwardness that comes with hearing those words and not being entirely sure how to go about responding to them.

I prefer that people tell me what they want to, when they want to, because when the layers finally come off, I have found that the wait is always worth it.

The stories are unique and special and worth being heard, and I feel so privileged that I get to listen to them. Even more importantly, the people behind them are beautiful in their own way.

I’m grateful for them.

Grateful for you.

Grateful for your story.

Grateful that you’re here. x

Leave a Reply

