54 Years of Awesome

mommy, macy, kyler and papa

January 15, 1960… A day that will NOT live in infamy. My mother isn’t perfect and that’s never been the picture I’ve tried to paint. It’s just impossible to focus on the flaws if you’re fortunate enough to become acquainted with the type of woman that she is. Always serving up a slice of humble pie. Always showing me every single day since I came out of her womb that love is a verb. It is practical. Always schooling me on how to love people well. As Christ has loved the church. As I love myself. Always exemplifying that success isn’t about monetary accumulation or material consumption but about treating others with dignity and respect no matter who they are or where they’re from. Always encouraging me to keep striving to be a better human being than I was yesterday. I am who I am because of my mother. Today and everyday I celebrate her.

Happy Birthday, Mommy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

