The Best Is Yet To Come

purple sunset

“The best is yet to come.”

“The best hasn’t happened yet.”

“There are far, far greater things in store than those we leave behind”.

“This is just the beginning.”

“There is everything to look forward to.”

“Expect even greater things in the future.”

One thought, and for centuries, people have come up with a thousand ways to say it. This seems to be a very common and popular statement these days. I myself am guilty of contributing to its spreading like wildfire.

It truly is a beautiful statement and one that would make just about anybody feel good, but that’s not why I believe in it. If you look at what God’s Word says, you will see that this statement is anchored on truth. And looking at the current state of the world we live in, it’s no wonder why people are holding on to it for dear life.

I’ve never been big on history. Back in school, it bored me to no end. History Channel? Forget it. I’d rather focus on current events and pop culture. But lately it has been drawing my attention. I’ve been missing out. There’s so much to learn from the past and those who have been gone before us. Understanding history is essential to gaining a proper perspective of the present.

I recently read that there was no word for TRAGEDY in the Hebrew language. It was only added to the Greek language. This is because the Hebrews believed that if things aren’t beautiful, then the story isn’t over. In other words, if God hasn’t made it beautiful, then he’s not finished with it. What a beautiful paraphrase of one of my favourite verses of all time, Ecclesiastes 3:11.

This is the promise that I stand on when it comes to the things I’m believing for and praying for from God. Romans 8:28 also says that we can be certain that EVERY detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good. Sometimes it’s easy to miss the bigger picture when we’re too focused on the details.

God, why is it taking so long for you to answer this prayer? Or why is it not being answered in the way that I expected it to be?

I can’t say how many times this has been the cry of my heart. But knowing who God is, knowing that his word says that his plans for me are filled only with hope and good and future and promise, I know I can trust him. I know that he knows way better than I do. I know that his grace covers me. I know that his love will always be deep, wide, high and long enough to break my fall and nothing in all the world can separate me from it. I know that the boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places. And really, in light of that truth and assurance, there’s nowhere else I’d rather be and I can be certain that the best really is yet to come. X

Leave a Reply

