But, my God, it’s so beautiful when the boy smiles

parasailing

Lately I’ve been listening to Tristan Prettyman. My best friend Ojen introduced me to her music many years ago and I’m grateful as her music definitely makes me happy.

I’m a right-brained person. I love the arts. Music, film and literature are things I cannot live without. Often that time of the month is associated with going cuckoo and I am definitely not an exception. I’ve been thinking about things I shouldn’t be and feeling things I have no right to. Or more accurately, don’t want to.

The other day I chanced upon Tristan’s latest release Cedar + Gold which dropped in October of last year. I’m not sure how I missed it. I love everything about the record. If I had to choose among film, music and literature, I’d choose music. There’s just something so beautiful and raw about another person being brave enough to bare their soul and tell their story in that manner. It evokes emotions in me that I can’t even put into words.

Tristan’s words make me think of life, dream of love, and ponder my passions. These are some of the things I would like to do in the next few years:

1. Fall in love.
2. Visit Iceland, Ireland and Israel.
3. Visit the concentration camps in Germany.
4. Meet my friend Kim in person. Facebook is a wonderful thing.
5. Get another tattoo.

There’s so much more but they don’t come to mind at the moment. Wherever you are in the world, I hope you embrace life today and love the people around you with intensity. Nothing else matters.

2 AM and I’m still awake, writing a song
If I get it all down on paper, it’s no longer inside of me,
Threatening the life it belongs to
And I feel like I’m naked in front of the crowd
Cause these words are my diary, screaming out loud
And I know that you’ll use them, however you want to

Leave a Reply

