The indescribable moments of your life

Dear Jessica,

Where do I begin? It’s a little past midnight here in Manila and I hope it’s been nothing short of a great day thus far for you!

In all honesty, I’m not sure what to say as I feel like I’ve already said everything that I wanted to say when I met you last month… not once, but thrice. But because I believe that birthdays are special as they are a celebration of one’s life, I will try my best to say something meaningful to you on your special day.

February 6, 2013 is a date that I will never forget. Why? Because I had the good fortune and profound privilege of being able to meet you face-to-face and tell you exactly why I admire you so much. I will hold that memory close to my heart like holding on for dear life though I know nothing, and no one ever will be able to take it away from me.

jessica chastain with fan pauline yao

I was having brunch with a friend in NYC a couple of days after meeting you and obviously I was still on Cloud 9. I hadn’t seen this friend in awhile and she asked me why I was such a huge fan of yours knowing that I’m not really the type to fan girl over a Hollywood celebrity. I explained why, shared THAT quote of yours on cruelty and gratitude, and she understood immediately. I don’t think I’ll ever see you as a Hollywood icon, not primarily at least. To be clear, this is a good thing. You’re just an ordinary person with an extraordinary job. And in my eyes, the greatest legacy you’ve left behind is your humanity. People will forget what you said, they may forget what you did, but they, and I… will never forget how you’ve made them feel.

Plain and simple, in your lowest moments, I just want you to remember that you’ve changed and impacted at least one life for better and that is mine. You truly inspire me to embrace and run after my passions; work tirelessly to achieve them; and most important of all, to do everything that I can to be a decent human being. I want to love people more fiercely and make them feel their worth because of one quote of yours that I read, and moreover, because your life and others’ testimonies about you truly back up your claim. You’re the real deal.

jessica chastain with fan pauline yao

And on this day, I joyously and wholeheartedly celebrate the day that you were born from half a world away. Thank you and know that you are never absent from my prayers. Thank you for being so kind to me when we met and thank you for leaving me with memories that will last a lifetime.

Here’s a song that I can’t stop listening to lately – it perfectly captures everything I feel about 2/6/13.

Enjoy and happy, happy, HAPPY BIRTHDAY. 🙂

P.S. Because of your FB page I’ve had the privilege of meeting some very special people… in person! I’ve made some pretty awesome friends for life and I have you to thank for that!

Leave a Reply

