APARISYON: The Last Thing I Would Call a Nightmare

aparisyon

Food for thought: A different perspective can change your view of everything.

Last week, I was mulling long and hard over this thought.

I walked into the theatre today thinking that Aparisyon was a horror film and I could not have been more wrong. Though I would deem the horrifying incident that occurred more fearful and heart-wrenching than any scary movie could possibly be.

I am so proud to say that I took the time to see this film because it gives me hope for the future of Philippine cinema. I roll my eyes and honestly get really sad when MMFF rolls around come December because usually, there are only ONE or TWO substantial films that come out. The best films; the ones worth seeing, are the ones that spark discussion and leave you thinking about the movie long after you’ve exited the theatre. Aparisyon is such a film.

I loved that it’s a period piece. And I don’t believe that I’m exaggerating when I say that I feel like they did everything right. The devastating effects of Martial Law and the Marcos Era were put on display in a subtle yet serious fashion. I was able to see not just a glimpse but a full-on view of what life is like in a monastery/convent.

I loved how the director and the guys behind the set kept it simple. I loved how the characters were fleshed out and how the plot was so unbelievably solid. I LOVED THE EMOTIONAL SCENE BETWEEN JODI STA. MARIA & MYLENE DIZON. Without words, they managed to move me to tears and make me feel every single strand of emotion that they felt. I love that there were tiny bursts of comedy here and there that were so authentic. There was no over-acting; and as we know, this is a rarity in local film. I loved how the film was able to capture Filipino culture and mindsets without bias or judgment. It is what it is.

I loved the way the supporting cast delivered their performances. Across the board, the performances were top-notch. It is evident when actors take their craft seriously and treat it with respect; not just as their ticket to fame or a pay check. This is clearly the case here.

It is my hope that Aparisyon would receive more exposure and more screenings. I am so humbled and elated by the fact that the producers chose to create this film and allow Philippine cinema to shine. I am tired of films that don’t give the Filipino audience an opportunity to think or wonder or struggle with a thought.

More than anything, I love how Aparisyon handled such a delicate issue with such sensitivity, grace and authenticity. I am proud of this film both as a Filipino and as a WOMAN. It is films like this that deserve to be in the foreign film category in the Oscars. I’m glad it’s now part of our tiny arsenal of worthwhile films. It’s about darn time. It’s funny how the literal translation of Aparisyon is ‘nightmare’. Cause that’s the last thing I’d associate this film with.

DCM, you don’t know how it made me feel to see your name up there. I wrote this without bias and I rally behind you and this work of art. What a masterpiece. Well done.

2 thoughts on “APARISYON: The Last Thing I Would Call a Nightmare

  1. So you did put your Ateneo hat on haha. Seriously, thank u for writing this. Lifted up my spirits indeed. Don’t worrry, in my 4th or 5th film i’ll cast Jessica Chastain haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

